High flying fun this July school holidays

Published: 04 Jul 2016 12:58pm

Wagga kids will be blown away by the magic and wonder of science this July school holidays when nationally-acclaimed science theatre troupe Questacon's Excited Particles comes to town.

The spectacular science show will present Balloonatic, which takes audiences on a fun-filled, hands-on journey through the history and science of the humble balloon.

The one-man show explores everything from hot-air ballooning, helium and hydrogen and the use of balloons in space.

The show aims to lift and inspire children's understanding of science and technology through humour, live demonstrations and audience participation.

Balloonatic is the latest instalment in the City of Wagga Wagga's Hall-A-Day Adventures outreach program, which has brought national and local performances to rural halls in the Wagga Wagga Local Government Area each July school holidays since 2013.

"Hall-A-Day Adventures gives residents in our rural villages a fantastic opportunity to see a high-class production in their own backyard at a very low cost," Director Environment and Community Services Janice Summerhayes said.

"Due to the winter weather the July school holidays tend to be a bit quieter. Holding the Hall-A-Day program in the second week of the July holidays is aimed to help break the boredom for rural kids and their families."

Following the performances, kids will be invited to roll up their sleeves and participate in a science-inspired craft activity run by the Museum of the Riverina.

The Hall-A-Day Adventures program will head to Galore for the first time this year, as well as Uranquinty, Oura, Collingullie and Ladysmith. Tickets are $5 or $4 for groups of four or more and can be purchased through the Civic Theatre Booking Office, civictheatre.com.au.

Hall-A-Day Adventures – Balloonatic performance dates and times

Show times for all locations are 10am and again at 1pm

Galore Community Hall – July 11

Uranquinty Community Hall – July 12

Oura Community Hall – July 13

Collingullie Community Hall – July 14

Ladysmith Memorial Hall – July 15