Nominations open for 2019 Australia Day Awards

Published: 17 Sep 2018 9:48am

It’s time to recognise our community’s stalwarts, local heroes and volunteers.

Nominations for Wagga Wagga’s 2019 Australia Day Awards are now open across four categories - Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (27 and younger), Walk of Honour Award and the Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for contribution to administration in sport.

The awards were officially opened at a Mayoral Reception featuring past recipients at the Council Meeting Room on Thursday evening.

“The annual Australia Day Awards recognise the outstanding contributions made by community members to our city,” Mayor of the City of Wagga Wagga Councillor Greg Conkey OAM said.

“Whether they’re a tireless community advocate or long-serving volunteer, they all deserve to be recognised.

“Community groups and individuals are encouraged to step up and nominate our everyday champions who have given selflessly to the community for many years.”

The winners will be announced at Wagga Wagga’s Australia Day events next year in the Victory Memorial Gardens.

If you know of someone deserving of recognition visit or contact 1300 292 442 for more information or to make a nomination.

Nominations close Friday 23 November.

2019 Australia Day Awards categories

Citizen of the Year: For outstanding service to the community

Young Citizen of the Year: 27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community

Walk of Honour Award: For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga LGA. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga Local Government Area for a period of at least five years.

Ted Ryder Memorial Award: For contributions to sporting organisations through administration and general service.