Wagga Wagga Australia Day Award winners announced

Published: 30 Jan 2019 9:26am

Three outstanding Wagga Wagga residents were honoured for their community contributions at the 2019 Australia Day Awards held at the Civic Theatre on 25 January.

Citizen of the Year was awarded to Alan Lean for his contribution toward the regional Camp Quality Centre and a driving force in Country Hope.  Alan has also been heavily involved with Rotary Club of Wagga Wagga initiatives and events, and active in community radio as a volunteer and board member at 2AAAFM.

Dr Matthew Lennon, 25, was named Young Citizen of the Year for his work in rural health and mentoring students to train and continue to work in rural and regional areas. Part of this vision involved the formation of Doctors for Rural Education and Medicine (DREAM).

The 2019 Walk of Honour inductee is Cecil “Bob” Scott who is known as the ‘heart and soul’ of the Wagga Wagga District Highland Pipe Band which he helped form in 1957.

Bob has been a regular performer for many decades at local events such as the ANZAC Day march and Dawn Service, the Wagga Wagga Eisteddfod and Tarcutta Driver Memorial Service.

The award winners and their bios are detailed below.


For outstanding service to the community

Alan Lean: Alan is a long standing member and past President of the Rotary Club of Wagga Wagga, as a Rotary member Alan has served in countless local service projects over the past 30 years and has served as a volunteer and board member of community radio station 2AAA FM.  Alan’s contribution toward the regional Camp Quality Centre and commitment to Country Hope is also commended. More recently Alan was founder of the Wagga Wagga Rotary Shine Awards, which recognises employees with disabilities and the employers who offer them meaningful employment.


27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community

Dr Matthew Lennon (25 years): Despite his youth, Matthew is an outstanding leader in rural health and high school education. Matthew founded Doctors for Rural Education and Medicine (DREAM), to mentor and inspire medical students to train and remain as doctors in the bush. Since 2013 he has run Springboard Education (a charity offering free tutoring to rural children), inspiring hundreds of local students to excel in education and follow careers in healthcare. Matthew is renowned for running rural appreciation weekends for visiting students and doctors interested in pursuing a rural health career. Matthew is also active in community organisations, volunteering at the Palliative Care Unit and assisting struggling students.


For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga Local Government Area. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga Local Government Area for a period of at least five years.

Cecil ‘Bob’ Scott: In 1957 Bob Scott was instrumental in the formation of the Wagga Wagga District Highland Pipe Band. Bob was the pipe major and was responsible for the music played, tutoring pipers, music selection, tuning pipes and drums and for the appearance and sound of the band in public performances. For the past 60 years Bob has been the heart and soul of the band. He has been involved in many activities throughout Wagga Wagga and surrounds including 60 years leading the ANZAC band, playing at the Dawn Service in Wagga Wagga and Uranquinty, performing at the Tarcutta Driver Memorial Service, and has over 20 years’ experience playing at the Eisteddfod and National Dancing in Wagga Wagga and surrounds. He has contributed 60 years of service toward events such as New Year celebrations in Wagga Wagga and plays regularly at the Sergeants’ Mess during celebrations.