Give someone legend status - nominate now for 2016 Australia Day Awards

Published: 05 Jun 2018 9:28am

3 August 2015

For immediate release

Give someone legend status – nominate now for 2016 Australia Day Awards

Do you know a dead set legend?

Don’t keep it a secret – make sure they get official legend status by nominating them for the 2016 Australia Day Awards.

Nominations will be officially launched at Mayoral Reception on Wednesday 5 August, and it’s now even easier to make sure every little ripper is recognised.

If your mate is a fair dinkum Aussie, just a few words on the back of a postcard is enough to get the nomination ball rolling.

“With Council’s new postcards, all it takes is a brief description of why the nominee deserves legend status,” Wagga Wagga City Council’s Events Coordinator Karly Pieper said.

“Drop it in or send it to the Council and we will contact you to go ahead with the nomination process if it fits within the awards criteria.”

Nominations for 2016 Australia Day Awards can be made for Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (27 and younger), Walk of Honour Award and the Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for contribution to administration in sport.

“Wagga is a great place to live, work and play and our community is full of unsung heroes,” Ms Pieper said.

“Whether they’re a tireless community advocate or long-serving volunteer, they all deserve legend status.

“Community groups and residents are encouraged to step up and nominate our everyday champions who have given selflessly to the community for many years.”

All past Australia Day Award winners have been invited to attend Mayoral Reception to launch the awards, which will include an address by the Mayor, Graham Cotter (Chair, Australia Day Community Committee) and the 2015 Citizen of the Year, Kerry Geale.

For more information on the awards, head to

2016 Australia Day Awards categories

Citizen of the Year: For outstanding service to the community

Young Citizen of the Year: 27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community

Walk of Honour Award: For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga LGA. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga LGA for a period of at least five years.

Ted Ryder Memorial Award: For contributions to sporting organisations through administration and general service.

Media opportunity:

What: Mayoral reception to launch of the opening of nominations for the 2016 Wagga Wagga Australia Day Awards

Where: Upstairs Foyer, Civic Theatre

When: 6pm, Wednesday 5 August



Contact Josh Lang 6926 9190/0437 385 892 or or follow us on Twitter - @WaggaCouncil