Nominations open for Wagga Wagga’s Australia Day Awards

Published: 02 Aug 2016 2:30pm

Do you know a dead set legend?

Don't keep it a secret – make sure they get official legend status by nominating them for the City of Wagga Wagga's 2017 Australia Day Awards.

If your mate is an absolute champion, just a few words on the back of a postcard is enough to get the nomination ball rolling.

"The postcards were introduced last year and proved a great way to nominate the unsung heroes in our community," Australia Day Committee Chair Graham Cotter said.

"All it takes is a brief description of why the nominee deserves legend status and then you can drop it in or send it to the Civic Centre.

"We'll then contact you to complete the full nomination process if it fits within the awards criteria."

Nominations for the 2017 Australia Day Awards can be made for Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (27 and younger), Walk of Honour Award and the Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for contribution to administration in sport.

"Wagga is a great place to live, work and play and our community is full of unsung heroes," Mr Cotter said.

"Whether they're a tireless community advocate or long-serving volunteer, they all deserve legend status.

"Community groups and residents are encouraged to step up and nominate our everyday champions who have given selflessly to the community for many years."

Nominations will be officially launched at a Mayoral Reception on Wednesday 3 August.

All past Australia Day Award winners have been invited to attend the launch, which will include an address by the Mayor and Mr Cotter.

Keep an eye out around town for a nomination postcard, or pop in to the Civic Centre. The awards nominations are open until 5pm, Friday November 25. Winners will be announced in conjunction with the Australia Day celebrations in January 2017.

For more information on the awards, head to

2017 Australia Day Awards categories

Citizen of the Year: For outstanding service to the community

Young Citizen of the Year: 27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community

Walk of Honour Award: For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga LGA. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga LGA for a period of at least five years.

Ted Ryder Memorial Award: For contributions to sporting organisations through administration and general service.

Media Opportunity

What: Mayoral reception to launch of the opening of nominations for the 2016 Wagga Wagga Australia Day Awards

Where: Wagga Wagga Art Gallery

When: 6pm, Wednesday 3 August