GM thanks outgoing Mayor Cr Rod Kendall

Published: 27 Sep 2016 12:02pm

City of Wagga Wagga General Manager Alan Eldridge has thanked Councillor Rod Kendall for his efforts and contributions as Mayor of the city for the past four years.

"On behalf of the City of Wagga Wagga I would like to sincerely thank outgoing Mayor Councillor Rod Kendall for his tireless effort in exercising his duties as Mayor," Mr Eldridge said.

"We thank him for his leadership and for positively supporting Council staff and the city."

Cr Kendall did not contest the mayoral election at last night's Ordinary Council Meeting.

Councillor Greg Conkey, who is serving his second term for Council, was elected Mayor unopposed.

Under an amendment to the Local Government Act which was passed in August, Cr Conkey will serve as Mayor for the next two years.

"I congratulate Cr Conkey and look forward to working closely with him over the next two years," Mr Eldridge said.

Councillor Dallas Tout was re-elected Deputy Mayor unopposed. Councillors resolved to appoint the role of Deputy Mayor for two years, to align with the mayoral term.

Last night's meeting was the first for the nine newly elected Councillors, which is comprised of incumbents Conkey, Tout, Kendall, Yvonne Braid, Paul Funnell and Kerry Pascoe and first-term Councillors Tim Koschel, Dan Hayes and Vanessa Keenan.