Transformational period ahead for Wagga Wagga: General Manager

Published: 20 Sep 2016 9:30am

Nine Councillors have been elected to the City of Wagga Wagga for what General Manager Alan Eldridge said will be a transformational period for the city.

Current Mayor Rod Kendall and Deputy Mayor Dallas Tout have been re-elected, joined by fellow incumbents Yvonne Braid, Greg Conkey, Paul Funnell and Kerry Pascoe. Ready to serve their first term as Councillors are Tim Koschel, Dan Hayes and Vanessa Keenan.

"I would like to congratulate the newly elected Council and I look forward to working with them over the next four years," Mr Eldridge said.

"Council has developed a comprehensive induction program that will be undertaken by both newly elected and re-elected Councillors. The program will provide a detailed overview of the structure and operations of Council, as well as the legislative context and obligations associated with the role of Councillors."

Mr Eldridge announced a new structure in July, which will be implemented on 3 October.

It will see four sectors created - Governance, Community, Commercial and Financial - rather than the existing directorate system. Recruitment for senior positions is currently being finalised.

"Operationally, Council will be more efficient with a focus on collaboration, quality service delivery and continuous process evaluation," Mr Eldridge said."

For the community, this means a Council that is less bureaucratic and ensures accountability and planning are a priority across the organisation."

The new structure is one aspect of what Mr Eldridge said will be an exciting term of Council.

"Over the next four years we will see the Bomen roads and potentially the Riverina Integrated Freight and Logistics (RiFL) Hub take shape, which has the ability to transform the local economy," Mr Eldridge said.

"We are also looking at changing the city's waste practices and are currently undertaking a landmark review of our planning framework."

Mr Eldridge thanked the previous Councillors for their service to community over the past term.

The first Ordinary Council Meeting for the newly elected Councillors will be held on Monday 26 September. The first task will be electing the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The office of Mayor will now be held for two years, rather than the current yearly system, following the passing of the Local Government Amendment (Governance and Planning) Act passed parliament on 24 August.