Events & Tourism

Australia Day Awards

Published: 25 Oct 2019 4:28pm

A new award recognising local contributions to the environment will be among the top honours handed out at next year’s Australia Day Awards in Wagga Wagga.

The Environmental Citizen of the Year award recognises outstanding efforts by individuals or organisations to preserve the environment, reduce litter and improve recycling, or use the Return and Earn scheme in an innovative way to fundraise for a meaningful cause.

Now is the time to start thinking about the local heroes and volunteers who deserve recognition for their contribution to our community.

Nominations for Wagga Wagga’s 2020 Australia Day Awards are now open across five categories - Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (27 and younger), Walk of Honour Award, the Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for contribution to administration in sport, and Environmental Citizen of the Year.

The awards were officially launched today at a gathering in the Victory Memorial Gardens featuring past recipients who endorsed the awards concept as great recognition for all the positive contributions to the city.

“There are many community members who make outstanding contributions to our city and villages in various capacities and for many causes,” Mayor of the City of Wagga Wagga Councillor Greg Conkey OAM said.

“Now is the time for community groups and individuals to come forward and nominate our local champions who selflessly give their time and effort to making our communities a better place to live, work and play.

“The annual Australia Day Awards are a fantastic way to recognise those people and groups.”

The winners will be announced at Wagga Wagga’s 2020 Australia Day awards ceremony.

If you know of someone deserving of recognition visit or contact 1300 292 442 for more information or to make a nomination.

Nominations close 5pm Friday 22 November 2019.

2020 Australia Day Awards categories

Citizen of the Year: For outstanding service to the community

Young Citizen of the Year: 27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community

Walk of Honour Award: For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga LGA. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga Local Government Area for a period of at least five years.

Ted Ryder Memorial Award: For contributions to sporting organisations through administration and general service.

Environmental Citizen of the Year (new): Recognises individuals and organisations for championing litter reduction and environmental initiatives.

The Australia Day Committee is holding an information session day for those who require assistance in completing their Australia Day award nomination form.

What: Australia Day Awards Nomination Information Session

When: Tuesday 12 November 2019

Where: Councillors Committee Room, Civic Centre

For more information visit or call 1300 292 442.