Community to share new school's facilities

Published: 03 Jul 2020 2:21pm

The Wagga Wagga community will benefit from modern facilities at the new primary school at Estella under joint use agreements recently confirmed.

Wagga Wagga City Council and The Department of Education finalised an agreement that allows for a larger and enhanced school hall and the provision of meeting rooms and a courtyard for the community.

In addition, the department has confirmed an arrangement with Charles Sturt University to provide professional learning space for teacher development in regional, rural and remote communities in NSW.

Mayor of the City of Wagga Wagga Councillor Greg Conkey OAM welcomed the news the shared use agreement had been finalised.

“This is an exciting local project which sees the NSW Government and Wagga Wagga City Council working together to deliver the best outcomes for the community,” Cr Conkey said.

“Council and community groups are looking forward to having this much-needed space to come together and hold meetings, workshops and other local events, and I’m pleased we’ve come to a mutually beneficial arrangement with the university and the NSW Government.”

Education Minister Sarah Mitchell said she was proud the NSW Government, Wagga Wagga City Council and Charles Sturt University were working together to deliver such an important project for the local community.

“The plan for joint use spaces at this new primary school is a great example of the government, council and university collaborating to create opportunities for the broader community to share and benefit from wonderful facilities well into the future,” Ms Mitchell said.

The new school, which is yet to be named, will provide 16 permanent classrooms and is being integrated into the Charles Sturt University Campus at Estella.

Early construction work began on the new school in April, and it is due to open in early 2021.