Older woman and younger woman standing near Wollundry Lagoon


City’s top citizen urges people to nominate unsung heroes

Published: 16 Oct 2020 9:46am

A challenging year has provided many individuals with an opportunity to step up and deliver for their local communities.

Wagga Wagga’s 2020 Citizen of the Year Lynne Graham says it’s those people who should be recognised in next year’s Australia Day Awards and is urging the community to get busy and nominate those unsung heroes.

“It’s been a difficult year and one of the things that I have noticed is that there’s been no slackening off of volunteers and their willingness and desire to be of help to others in the community,” Ms Graham said.

“People may not think of themselves as being worthy recipient when doing volunteer work caring and supporting others.

“I know that was the case with myself. You do it for the love of the job and don’t expect any recognition … it was a wonderful surprise for me to be nominated and then given the honour of being named for this award.

“There are some great people doing some amazing work in their fields of work. I hope there is a very long list of worthy recipients for next year’s award, because it has been a tough year and people have really stepped up to the mark to help out where they can.”

Ms Graham was recognised for her work with the Community Kitchen and Carevan, an organisation which was instrumental in the early stages of the pandemic in supplying food and supplies to people in need.

Nominations for Wagga Wagga’s 2021 Australia Day Awards are now open across five categories - Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (27 and younger), Walk of Honour Award, the Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award for contribution to administration in sport, and Environmental Citizen of the Year.

The winners will be announced at Wagga Wagga’s 2021 Australia Day awards ceremony. This event will be held at the Civic Theatre on Monday 25 January.

A community day is also planned for Tuesday 26 January at the Botanic Gardens. This will depend on Public Health Order restrictions. A decision on this event will be made on 11 November.

If you know of someone deserving of recognition visit the Australia Day page on Council's website or contact 1300 292 442 for more information or to make a nomination.

Nominations close 5pm Friday 20 November 2020.

2021 Australia Day Awards categories

  • Citizen of the Year: For outstanding service to the community
  • Young Citizen of the Year: 27 years and younger, for outstanding service to the community
  • Walk of Honour Award: For substantial contributors (past or present) to the Wagga Wagga LGA. Nominees can be of any age, living or deceased and must have resided in Wagga Wagga Local Government Area for a period of at least five years
  • Ted Ryder Memorial Award: For contributions to sporting organisations through administration and general service
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year: Recognises individuals and organisations for championing litter reduction and environmental initiatives.