Three people on park bench


Australia Day Awards: Time to honour local champions

Published: 28 Sep 2021 3:12pm

Achievements by local citizens who have made significant community contributions will be the focus of nominations for the 2022 Australia Day Awards.

Nominations for five categories opened today (Tuesday 28 September) and give residents the opportunity to recognise those citizens who have made a difference during the past year.

Australia Day committee organisers are urging community members to start thinking about local champions who make a contribution in all areas of community life.

Mayor of the City of Wagga Wagga Cr Greg Conkey OAM joined with the city’s 2021 Citizen of the Year, Belinda Crain, and 2021 Young Citizen of the Year, Clare Lawlor, to launch the awards.

“There’s many people in our community making a difference. Let’s hear about them and let’s tell their stories,” Cr Conkey said.

“These awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise all citizens who have made a significant contribution.”

Ms Crain said being named Citizen of the Year 2021 was a humbling experience.

“There’s a lot of people out there having a go and trying to make a difference for the better … so there’s many people deserving of this award,” Ms Crain said.

“It is a great way to recognise our unsung heroes who make such a strong contribution to society. It is a great honour to be recognised in this way.”

Young Citizen of the Year 2021 Clare Lawlor said recognising young people’s achievements was a positive and rewarding way to build community spirit.

“Our youth are in the community doing amazing things so it’s only a given that they’re recognised for it,” Ms Lawlor said.

“They are paving the way in so many areas and to be able to give credit for those achievements is a real community highlight.”

The Australia Day Awards ceremony will be held at the Civic Theatre on Tuesday 25 January 2022.

Nominations are open in the following categories: Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Ted Ryder Sports Memorial Award, Walk of Honour, and the Environmental Citizen of the Year Award.

Nominations close midnight, Monday 22 November 2021.

Nominations can be submitted via

For further information please contact

Image: Mayor of the City of Wagga Wagga Cr Greg Conkey OAM this week launched the 2022 Australia Day Awards with 2021 Young Citizen of the Year Clare Lawlor and Citizen of the Year Belinda Crain.